How to manage users and groups?

Users and Groups

The Manager settings section includes options that let you manage users and groups. It also allows configuring test identifiers.

Go to Settings by clicking Screenshot_94 button on the top right side of the page.

 

Note: Settings displays Users section by default. Only administrators have access to users, groups, and the Properties sections. If a user is not an administrator, he or she will only be able to view the list of users and groups.

Users

When you log in for the first time, there is only one user account in the system, and it is the admin account. By default, you are an Administrator and can manage users.

Create users to control access to projects, Test plans and Test runs. Users belonging to any group have selected access based on the limitations of their group.

To open the “Users” page, click “Users” from the left pane of “Settings” view. Here you can see the users list.

Screenshot_98

Create a user

Click “+ User” button. “New user” form appears;

First name:  Specify the first name of the user.

Last name: Specify the last name of the user.

Username: Specify a unique username for this user. Usernames must begin with an alpha character and are case-sensitive.

Email address:  Provide the email address for this user.

Password: Enter a password for this user. Passwords are case-sensitive.

Confirm password: Re-enter the password.

Check the Administrator check box if the user shall have full administrative rights for the entire application.

If you are adding a domain user account, select the Domain user checkbox. When selected, the Password and Confirm password fields are removed. To learn more, see this article.

After you put all the fields, click on the “Create” button to create the user.

Once you create the new user, it will be added to the “Users List”.

Edit a user

Select the desired user, make changes and click “Update” to apply the changes.

Delete a user

Select the desired user and click “Remove” to delete the user.

Note: If a Test Plan is locked by a user and the user is deleted, the Test Plan will be unlocked.

Groups

Create groups to control access to projects, Test plans, and reports. Users belonging to any group have selected access based on the limitations of their group. With the groups, it is easy to organize Test Plans and reports.

To open the “Groups” page, simply select the “Groups” section from the left pane of “Settings” view.

Here you can access the groups' list.

Screenshot_99

Create a group

Click “+ Group”  button. “New group” form appears;

Name:  Specify the name of the group.

Description: Enter an optional description to help identify this group.

Select users: Select one or more user to assign to this group. You might need to scroll down to find the user in the list.

Selected users: The selected users will automatically appear here.

Click “Create” to create the group.

Once you create the new group, it will be added to the groups' list.

    Edit a group

    Select the desired group, make changes and click “Update” to apply the changes.

    Delete Group

    Select the desired group and click “Remove” to delete the group.